Unlock (Or Dust Off) Your Inner Creativity With These Tips

Marykate Mcdevitt

“I do have to step back and realize that it is not the end of the world if it’s not perfect,” explains Brooklyn-based illustrator Mary Kate McDevitt
Image: marykatemcdevitt via Instagram

 

Everyone goes through periods where they experience a kind of creative block. You don’t even have to be a famous painter, sculptor, or writer to feel creatively arrested in this way. The Huffington Post recently collected a list of tips and daily habits from artists, and I think that many of them are valuable and worth sharing. Here are a handful of daily rituals and tips from artists to help you get over a creative block:

“I do have to step back, take a breather, and realize that it is just a project and not the end of the world if it’s not perfect,” explains Brooklyn-based illustrator Mary Kate McDevitt on letting go of your idea of “perfect.”

“It is when I find myself playing more than trying that I find my way out of a block,” says Aris Moore, a teacher and artist from New Hampshire, about having fun with your project.

“Don’t put barriers up that aren’t there – just get to work and make something,” suggests Portland, Oregon-based painter Lisa Golighty, who has to remind herself that she can be her own hardest critic sometimes.

“Intimacy, cocktails and music are excellent lubricants in and out of a rut,” says Peregrine Honig, an artist from Kansas City who suggests indulging in your vices when you’re feeling creatively stuck.

“I could easily go around in endless circles with myself, questioning whether or not I’m on the right track with something. I just have to stop myself, and ask for help,” explains Milwaukee-based artist Cassandra Smith about knowing when to ask for help.

Here’s one last tip from me that works perfectly whenever I’m feeling stuck: get outside, go to an art gallery, or just find anything to look at that is visually inspiring. We live in one of the most beautiful, unique cities in the world; it won’t take long to discover something remarkable to help you get over a creative block!

What are your best tips for getting out of a creative rut?

About Alex Holt

I am a local artist from Brooklyn, NY. I love art, design, books, photography, gardening and blogging.
This entry was posted in art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

